Winter Citrus Salad

It’s that time of year when we crave some sunshine, warmth and summer.  At least I do.  It’s also a vital time to take in lots of vitamin C to boost our immune system and ward off funk.  I had been pondering just how to do this.  Generally during the winter I don’t crave or desire salads, but prefer something warm and comforting (without putting on extra weight in an ideal world).  I decided to do some googling to see what fruits were in season and lone behold citrus fruits are.  Bonus, I love citrus especially grapefruits and tangerines.  Mmmmm!  

I love a fresh fruity salad in the summer, it always makes me feel light and energetic.  How lovely it would be to have the same effect in winter. Though I haven’t been diagnosed, I do feel “blue” in the winter (SAD).  The days when the sun is loath to shine and the temps hardly tickle the freezing point puts me in a slump and I’d like nothing more than to sit under a huge comforter and knit.  That’s obviously not a realistic choice so I usually fight, compromise or trick myself into staying active & eating healthy with a range of strategies (motivational pics, rewards, yes, rewards, review my Why, etc).  

So here comes the salad and my hopes to pack myself full of healthy goodness and boost my spirits.

Serves 1

Vinaigrette (makes extra):

2 tsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp raw honey

2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp minced fresh basil

1/8 tsp minced fresh ginger

Dash pink Himalayan salt

Pinch Chile powder

1/2 tsp minced shallot

1 Tbl roasted almonds

1/3 cup rinsed chickpeas

Organic baby spinach

1-2 tangerines

1/2 chopped red and yellow bell pepper

Whisk all of the vinaigrette ingredients together.

Place your spinach, chickpeas and pepper in a bowl.  Toss with a heaping tablespoon of vinaigrette.  Top with slices of tangerine and toasted almonds.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.  Was delish with mango-peach sparkling water or a Sauvignon Blanc đŸ˜‰
Cheers

Leave a Reply

