Day 24

I can hardly believe I’m on Day 24 of my P90X3 challenge!  Time flies, it hasn’t been perfect but nothing is.  There are always slip ups.  I was reading an article the other day  from Stew Smith that basically said you need a solid 3 weeks to create a positive habit (something most of us know).  The real kicker was that he said any time you start a new challenge you will always go through a phase where you want to give up or you end up staring an obstacle head-on.  If you get through that phase you will succeed, if you give in, you will not.  It’s so true, I have seen it during my own health and fitness journey.  The crazy excitement about starting a new plan, one that will work and get me where I want to be, this time.  Then about 2 weeks in, after following my plan to the “T” something happens.  My schedule goes haywire, I come down with a cold, I get injured, we are traveling or family is in town, name something.  In the past I have lost to that obstacle.  And you know what?  It’s so easy once you miss one workout or have a cheat meal that turned into a cheat day to not let it be a big deal to miss another, then before you know it, you might as well start over…again.  Each time you start over though, you lose a little bit of that excitement, because doubt is lingering in the shadows.  “will I really follow through this time?”  So, how many times do you start over?  I have started many.  I have been on my health and fitness journey since high school.  And then I became a health and fitness coach.  It has kept me grounded, it has given me more knowledge to get through these obstacles and help others get through theirs which only provides motivation to keep going.  We all feed off of each other’s success and results.  😀

Honestly, during these past 3 weeks I have missed a workout here and there BUT I didn’t let it stop me from getting one in the next day.  NOTHING was going to keep me from missing 2 days in a row, even if that meant being up at 0400, scraping my ass off the couch after a long day and slogging through a workout, rescheduling other tasks or offering others to join me if they wanted to see me.  It got done.  You need to stay consistent to keep momentum going.  Those who succeed do so by being persistent.  Sometimes it takes getting creative to find that motivation to keep yourself going.  Today I would have given anything to just crawl into bed after work with a book and call it a damn day.  Insomnia is kicking my ass lately.  But working out is a two-fold treatment: it wears you out physically and it lowers stress levels.  So, alas, Day 24 is done.  It was not pretty, I’m not embarrassed to say I nearly fell on my ass doing Joel Jumps, but it doesn’t matter.  It got done.  You know what?  I’m ready for tomorrow.

The next time you meet that obstacle will you throw in the towel or will you use it to mop up the sweat pouring from your face?

Leave a Reply

