Roasted Sweet Potato Bowl

Greetings!  I have been terrible about blogging food lately.  I will keep this short and sweet.  I typically make a sweet potato bowl similar to the Engine 2 Diet but wanted to make it  more robust and flavorful.  I figured tossing the potato and peppers in extra virgin olive oil and some spices, roasting it would do the trick.  I will admit, I used a home made taco spice because I was in more of a southwest mood and for the life of me I can’t find the exact recipe.  I have added spices to this recipe which will get you close, I typically play with spice mixes anyway, sniffing them until I like what I smell.  Weird I know, but it works.  This recipe makes 1 serving.

Ingredients:
1/2 Tbl EVOO
~1 tsp ground cumin
~1/2 tsp ground garlic
~1/4 tsp smoked paprika
dash sea salt
~1/4 tsp ground chile pepper
1 small sweet potato, peeled and cubed
1/2 chopped red pepper
1/2 chopped green pepper
1/3 cup seasoned black beans
2 green onions, sliced
1/3 avocado, diced
Chopped fresh cilantro to taste

Preheat your oven to 425F.

Toss your sweet potato and spices in a bowl until well coated.  Place them on a baking sheet with parchment paper in a single layer.  Bake for 20 minutes, tossing about every 5-7 minutes to evenly roast.

DSCN7196

In the meantime, add your bell peppers to the same bowl as the potatoes and toss to coat with remaining oil and spices.
Heat your black beans in a small pot over medium low heat, stirring often.

When there is about 12 minutes left, add the bell peppers to the pan with the sweet potatoes.

DSCN7197

Stir the peppers and potatoes with about 6 minutes left to continue roasting.

Add your roasted peppers to the bowl, then your peppers.  Top with black beans.  Sprinkle the green onion, avocado and cilantro.

DSCN7201

I LOVE this recipe.  I couldn’t believe  how much flavor there was and I’m not embarrassed to say that I kept telling my husband how good it was as I ate it 🙂  I enjoyed leftovers for the next 3 days, though when I say leftovers I mean that I cook it fresh nightly, just using up the extra ingredients.

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

