Running and Thoughts

What a beautiful Saturday morning sunrise!  All I kept thinking was how much I wanted to go for a run but I also kept thinking of all of the stuff I had to get done by 10:15.  Then I thought how shitty and rainy it was going to be tomorrow and how much happier I would feel and therefore how much more productive I would be if I went for a run….needless to say, I went for a run.  I compromised and kept it under 4 miles 😉  As per usual, I had thoughts firing around the noggin on my run.  I really need to keep a recorder with me, I have the most brilliant ideas and then forget them by the time I get back.  I retained a few thoughts though…

First of all I was super stoked when I ran past the eastern shore of the lake which has thawed.  I thought to myself that with some rain and another week of nice temps I could be on my kayak paddling around by the end of March.  Yeah, I’ll probably have to bundle up, but how cool would that be?!!  I then got myself uber excited over kayaking and truly starting scheduling my weeks when I would get my ass out of bed by 0400 so I could be on the water for a paddle before work, that’s just happy right there.

The second thought as I climbed up numerous hills was how thankful I am for the beachbody programs I do as a coach and host in my groups.  No, I’m not being salesy and this is why: Because of the neuroma I haven’t been able to run since late October other than the Knickerbocker 5k and my first 4 miler on Tuesday (post 2nd round of cortisone injection).  I thought I’d be starting from scratch as is the case when I end up on a running hiatus, but I trotted around town feeling awesome sauce!

I also thought about how little I care about people staring at me while I run.  5 years ago when I started running I was sure to get my ass out the door before most people were up and moving so I could run in the dark because I didn’t want people to see me.  The more I ran, the less I cared and the more I observed those who stare.  I came to the conclusion most women avoid making eye contact with women who run, dudes stare, truckers stare, old guys try not to stare but are really staring (their attempt at using peripherals is hilarious) and fellow runners or fitness peeps wave…I wave back :D.

Then I came to the conclusion, in case you didn’t know, Morton’s neuroma sucks balls.  It started to get seriously pissed around mile 3.2, thankfully I had less than a mile of “ow, ow, ow…” repeating in my head.  I’m sadly getting good at breathing through the discomfort, which I would rather breathe through muscle aches or a tough hill, but you gotta do whatcha gotta do (until they figure out how to fix it anyway). 

As a final kudos to my decision to blow off a couple of things and go for a run instead of frantically darting around the house and barely accomplishing anything; I logged into mapmyrun.com to check my times and I shaved off 3 minutes since the last time I ran that loop. Take that neuroma amd thank you P90X3 and Hammer & Chisel.  Booyah!

Thanks for reading my ramblings, I hope your Saturday rocked!

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

