Meal in 5 ingredients

I can’t believe that tomorrow is the 1st of December!  On the plus side I’m super stoked that I’ve started a new Health for the Holidays challenge today on Facebook.  I’m so excited for my challengers;, they are pumped! and so am I.   I  have a feeling this is going to be a great month and people are going to see some great results even with the busy holiday schedules and temptations.  😉

New challenges inspire me to create new recipes that people can easily meal prep for busy schedules.  I like to experiment on myself first…obviously.  An inconsistent work schedule is something I routinely deal with, I don’t have a set schedule and I’m often working out of my car.  So, for an added challenge, I pulled ingredients primarily out of my pantry to create a healthy lunch or dinner that can be made with 5 ingredients.  I had a can of butter beans, black olives and some organic balsamic vinaigrette around.  Here comes a super easy and healthy salad, which can be modified if you’re looking for more substance or flavor.  I’ll include options at the end as usual.

5 Ingredient Bean Salad
Makes 3 lunches

1 can rinsed butter beans (or any white bean you like)
1/2 can black olives, halved
1 pint organic cherry tomatoes, halved
1 organic bell pepper, chopped
2 Tbl Balsamic vinaigrette

Get ready for it….  Combine your rinsed beans, chopped bell pepper, olives and tomatoes in a bowl.  Drizzle the balsamic over the top and lightly toss….Ta daaa!  I told you it was easy, then go ahead and split it into 3 meal prep containers and you have lunch or dinner on-the-go.  Could be heated if you like.

DSCN7096

There are a few options you could do to modify this into a more substantial meal, so here goes:

Add pasta, artichokes, other bell peppers, fresh basil, feta cheese to name a few.  The whole point was to keep it simple and work primarily from what I had in my pantry, but I love modifying recipes.  I hope you enjoy, and if you do modify, please share!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

