Sunday Funday Run

It occurred to me this morning during my Sunday Funday run on the Glacial Drumlin Trail that about 4 years ago I was on FB asking distance runner buddies how they can run more than 3 miles without getting incredibly bored.  I really wanted to venture into distance running since sprinting isn’t something I can do daily nor are there “sprint” fun runs 😉  I asked what keeps them interested because for the life of me I couldn’t figure it out.  When I started dabbling into distance running, I’d get out there, painfully get through my 5k and think to myself “why am I doing this?  what am I missing? this wasn’t all that fun”

So, I started doing research (asking buddies is where I started).  After 4 years of working on my running, learning about better form, breathing, increasing distance, working in aerobic intervals and just being consistent, I finally get it.  It’s my time to listen to my favorite music, it’s my time to let my mind completely wander (I’m a visual person and could be called a daydreamer at times), it’s my time to sort out troubles, it’s my time to take in the seasonal changes in southern Wisconsin, it’s my time to think up great ideas or “fitness epiphanies”, it’s my time to overcome challenges, it’s my time to get in tune with my body and to just plain feel amazing.

I think it takes patience and consistency to finally appreciate what running (or biking) can do for you.  I am a much happier, calm, patient person when I get that time and I encourage any who haven’t given a whole hearted try to do so.  Sure, it’s tough at first, but it’s worth it.  I have the full support of my husband who gives me that time on a weekend morning to just run and be by myself and he gets his time too.

That being said, I often wonder what reasons everyone else has for making fitness (whatever form it may be, I enjoy all kinds) a priority and doing it daily.  So, what are your reasons?  what does exercise do for you?

11-16-021-e1393925658949

http://www.mapmyrun.com/workout/1249946339

 

One thought on “Sunday Funday Run

  1. Great post. I like that you’ve stuck with it. Fitness I think carries over into every aspect of life, making each part of it better. Makes you stronger mentally as well as physically.

    Like

Leave a Reply

