Becky’s Vegetarian Chili

Happy fall everyone!  It’s that time of year to enjoy the changing of the seasons and crock pot recipes!  I was looking forward to a cooler week so that I could break out the crock pot and make some chili, this week was it!  So, I share with you my very own chili recipe that I have tailored over the years to make it perfect (obviously this is my opinion).  I had a busy week coming up, so a crock pot recipe was just the thing I needed.  Throw everything together and BOOM, you have a meal ready a few hours later that will reheat well.

Becky’s Vegetarian Chili
This recipe serves approximately 3-4, I use a 1 cup measuring cup (using about 1 1/4 cup)and place the leftovers into containers so I can heat and go as the week goes on.  Works great!  If you are cooking for a family, just double up the recipe 🙂

Ingredients:
1/2 pkg Smart Ground
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can seasoned diced tomatoes (I like the green chile version)
1/2 finely chopped sweet onion
1/2 chopped red or yellow bell pepper
1/2 chopped green bell pepper
2-3 tsp minced garlic
1/2 cup sweet corn
1-2 minced chipotle peppers (depending on how spicy you like it)
~3 tsp chili powder
~1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
~1 tsp ground cumin
~ 3 tsp adobo sauce (from the chipotle pepper jar)
~1 tsp oregano
~1/2-3/4 cup water
Sea salt to taste

DSCN7032
That’s it!  Add all of your ingredients into the crock pot, set it on high for an hour, then low for about 3.  The veggies retain a slight crisp to them which I like, not a big fan of mushy veggies.  If you can, stir every now and then to heat thoroughly.

Now let’s talk toppings, because nearly everything is better with toppings, right?  I used 2 Tbl of Mexican crumbling cheese, I have also used cottage cheese in the past.  Most people make the “eeww” face but don’t be judgy until you try it, it’s remarkably yummy and adds a boost of protein!

DSCN7037

So, off I went with my delicious, protein packed vegetarian chili, a glass of red wine and enjoyed a little fall ambiance.  I hope you do the same!

Cheers!

DSCN7038

Leave a Reply

