Overnight Apple Pie Oats

Lately I have been diving into new worlds of food and I’m totally loving it!  I have been looking for new ways to sassy up my oats.  I had been making overnight steel cut chai oats, which are lovely, however the steel cut oats never seem to get as chewy as I would like.  I had yet to play with using chia seeds in my oats, so after doing some blog searching I found a fantastic recipe to try, thanks to Oh She Glows.

So, last night as the sun went down, the humidity finally vanished and a nice cool breeze floated in through the windows.  It smelled like the beginnings of fall which did nothing but give me cravings for apple pie 😉  Using the basic building blocks of the recipe I mentioned above, I found some applesauce in my fridge, pulled out some spices and through a simple and delicious breakfast to follow up my yoga practice for the following day.  Tonight I might go a little crazy and use 1/4 cup of steel cut oats in place of the rolled oats.  I do like the nutty, chewy texture of steel cut better and I have just enough applesauce for 1 more meal.

Apple Pie Chia Oats
1/2 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/2 cup applesauce
1 1/2 Tbl chia seeds
~1/8 tsp apple pie spice
Optional toppings: chopped apple, toasted pecans

Mix the applesauce, oats, chia seeds, spice and milk together in a glass container.  Place in fridge overnight.

DSCN6914 DSCN6915

The next morning your breakfast is ready!  I just love easy meals that you can prep in advance.  I’m not sure that prepping a week’s worth would be a great idea, but I’m wondering if swapping steel cut for rolled would buy you at least a couple days worth without getting super mushy.  I’m open to suggestions if you’ve tried it!  In any case, I think I’ve found a new favorite way to prep oats.

DSCN6921

2 thoughts on “Overnight Apple Pie Oats

Leave a Reply

