Vegan Pesto Pasta!

I have been looking forward to making something similar to this creation since last week and as it turns out, I’m super glad that I didn’t have a chance to make it.  After a fantastic visit with my parents last weekend, my mom shared some of her homegrown herbs…hello sweet basil!  So, I share with you a vegan pesto pasta dish that’s great cool or warmed up.

For the pesto, I used
1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 cup packed fresh sweet basil (thanks, Mom!)
1/4 cup walnuts
1 1/2Tbl nutritional yeast
1 Tbl lemon juice
1 garlic clove

Vegan Pesto Ingredients

Pulse the nuts, garlic and basil.  Add in the lemon juice and EVOO, blend until smooth, add in the nutritional yeast and pulse until well combined.

I used Hodgson Mills whole grain pasta with quinoa.  I had some unused cherry tomatoes and sweet yellow so I halved those.  To top off the dish, reduced fat crumbled feta cheese.

If you’re into meal prepping, I like to do a few days at a time so I often cook a meal that reheats well.  This recipe qualifies.  I measured 1/2 cup pasta, 1 cup halved tomatoes, 1 Tbl pesto and 1 Tbl feta.

Pesto dish

Ta da!  Fast, delicious whole food and an extra 3 meals to boot.  I hope you enjoy as much as I did 🙂

Options:  add in some crushed red pepper to the pesto or sun dried tomatoes 😉

Leave a Reply

